Volunteers honoured for long service at awards ceremony

Date: 09/06/2023 | Category: General News

On Wednesday 7 June, volunteers from Bedfordshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust were invited to a special event to honour them for their service.

The volunteers support a range of staff, including assisting at mealtimes, helping on wards, helping admin staff and so much more.

Long service awards were presented to volunteers who have been with the Trust for 5, 10, 15, 20 and 30 years.

Karen Bush, Community Engagement and Voluntary Services Manager, said: “I never cease to be humbled by so many of you, giving so freely and unreservedly. I’ve totalled up the sum contribution of those receiving awards and it’s a phenomenal 535 years!

“This event is one of the highlights of the Voluntary Services calendar and is such a lovely opportunity on behalf of the Trust, our patients, staff and the charity to say a huge thank you for all you do for us, and more specifically, our patients and indeed our staff.”

HM Lord Lieutenant of Bedfordshire, Susan Lousada, was also in attendance to thank the volunteers and present some awards.

She said: “I just can’t thank you enough. You do so much to ease things, make it a comfortable and kind place, and to help the NHS. Without you, it would struggle a little bit more so thank you for what you do.”

Attendees enjoyed a buffet lunch and the opportunity to meet other volunteers from around the Trust.

If you are interested in volunteering at Bedford Hospital, please email voluntary.services@bedfordhospital.nhs.uk

Or if you would like to volunteer at Luton and Dunstable University Hospital, please email voluntaryservices@ldh.nhs.uk

Volunteer long service awards

  • 5 year award: Margaret Connolly, Ann Cox, Jamaludin Dalvi, Annietta Stapleton, Nicola Davis, Maurice McHugh, Hazel Ballard, Amar Shah, Lily Rollins, Rosaleen Burke, Jayesh Vadgama, Paul Cormack, Rhianna Haestier, Maria Lovett, Irene Hays, Paul Hounslow, Sarah Woods, James Furness, Aisling Prunty, Pamela Ireland, Sarah Goodale, Nichola Richards, Jeannie Roberts, Jenny Lambert, Peter Turnbull
  • 10 year award: Beverley Campbell, Colin Rutter, John Graham, Janet Graham, Oliver Pena, Maggie Davies, Victor Shekle, Judy Levy, Victor Wakeling, Margaret De Winter, Jean Biggs, Hasmita Soni, Kailas Tailor, Wendy Waters, June Hamilton, Kenneth Cummings, Jennifer Ward Fletcher
  • 15 year award: Smith Frisco, Icilda Mills, Stan Boelman, Vaju Pattni, Nabu Pattni, John Webb
  • 20 year award: Judy Fleckney, Diane Wells, David McDonald, Angela Pitkin, Susmita Shah, Beryl Barclay
  • 30 year award: Jean Shaw