Toggle Site Contrast Toggle Site Contrast

Non-Executive Directors

Simon Linnett - ChairSimon Linnett
Non-Executive Chair

On the 16 July 2014 the Council of Governors approved the appointment of Simon Linnett as the new Chair of the Trust. He took up his post from the Annual Members Meeting on the 24 September 2014.

Simon Linnett is Vice Chairman at Rothschild in London. He has devoted a large part of his professional life to working within the public/private interface both nationally and internationally and is responsible for the bank’s relationship with the UK government.  He has had a long association with the health dialogue including the health reform process and the health debate generally and has engaged with various government bodies and other health institutions on this subject.  Simon has previously headed Rothschild’s global transport group and remains closely involved with its initiatives.  He has a strong personal interest in the “green” debate, seeking to influence discussion on auctioning emissions and chairing Rothschild’s Environment Committee. Simon graduated from Oxford in Mathematics in 1975 and joined N. M. Rothschild & Sons Ltd where he has been ever since. Simon’s external roles include: a Patron of the Independent Transport Commission; and Trustee of Exbury Garden Trust (a Rothschild family garden), Trustee of NESTA. He has previously been Chair of the bank’s environment group.

  • Chair Board of Directors
  • Chair Council of Governors
  • Member Re-Development Board
  • Member FIP
  • Chair Charitable Funds
  • Chair Sustainability Committee
  • Member Executive Remuneration and Nomination Committee
  • Medical Staff Committee (MSC) and Junior MSC
  • CoG Membership and Communication Meeting
  • CoG Constitutional Working Group
  • CoG Remuneration and Nomination
  • Chair Medical Lectures
  • Link for Volunteering
  • Link with Chaplaincy
  • Link Equality and Diversity
  • Link Outpatients
  • Guardian for Health and Wellbeing
  • AAC (Consultant Recruitment)

Gordon Johns
Non-Executive Director/Senior Independent Director

Gordon held several senior positions in the financial services industry in the City of London over 36 years, including as a director of Lazard Brothers, chief executive of Kemper Investment Management and a director of ING Financial Markets.

Gordon is now Chairman of trustees of Lymphoma Action, a trustee of a charitable educational trust, and a senior coach for the Institute of Advanced Motorists.

  • Senior Independent Director
  • Chair Executive Remuneration and Nomination Committee
  • Member Audit and Risk
  • Member of Charitable Funds Committee
  • Member Redevelopment Board
  • Member of Quality Committee
  • Member Sustainability Committee
  • Link Freedom to Speak Up
  • Bedford Hospital AACs

Mark Prior smallMark Prior
Non-Executive Director

Mark is a chartered project manager and surveyor with over 35 years experience in the construction and development sectors. He was Managing Director for E C Harris in the Middle East and grew a single location single service office of 30 staff, into a business, operating from Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Qatar and KSA, delivering outcome based project services, with over 700 staff.

He was Group Head of Transportation for EC Harris, building a sustainable and diversified portfolio of international business and focusing growth in project and construction services.

  • Chair Redevelopment Board
  • Member of FIP
  • Member of Workforce Committee
  • Member Audit and Risk Committee
  • Member Sustainability Committee
  • Estates Link
  • Link PLACE Meeting
  • Link PLACE Assessments
  • Link for Car Parking
  • Link Health and Safety
  • Link for Emergency Planning

Small pic of Simon Barton

Simon Barton
Non-Executive Director

Simon is a highly experienced Chief Financial Officer. He is an accountant and has 10 years’ experience in investment banking. He has a broad range of experience in financial planning and analysis, a very strong history of developing and negotiating creative financial outcomes, fundraising and completing strategic transactions, and an established record of adding value with innovative solutions.


  • Vice Chair
  • Chair Digital Strategy Meeting
  • Chair GDE Programme Board
  • Member Audit and Risk
  • Member of COSQ
  • Member of FIP

Annet Gamell NEDAnnet Gammel
Non-Executive Director

Annet qualified at Charing Cross Hospital Medical School in 1980. After further training and a spell in The Sudan with Save The Children during the Ethiopian famine, she worked clinically as a GP in Buckinghamshire from 1985 to 2019.

Appointments include CEO/Chief Clinical officer of NHS Chiltern CCG until 2016; Chair of Thames Valley Urgent and Emergency Care Network until 2017.

Current roles include Board Member and Chair of Primary Care Commissioning Committee NHS Ealing CCG; Chair of Quality and Performance Committee North West London CCGs and Council Member for Bucks New University.

  • Chair COSQ
  • Member Workforce Committee
  • Member Digital Strategy Committee
  • Medical Education Division
  • Chair Local Clinical Excellence Awards
  • Clinical Audit and Effectiveness Committee
  • Nominated NED for Consultants under disciplinary
  • Link Safeguarding
  • Ethics Committee representative
  • Falls Representative
  • Maternity Representative (Board Safety Champion)
  • Link for Organ Donation
  • AAC (Consultant Recruitment)

Steve Hone
Non-Executive Director

Steve is a qualified engineer who has over 25 years extensive experience as a director and senior executive within the manufacturing and high service level distribution industries and latterly as a management consultant and Non-Executive Director to a number of small and medium-sized businesses.

Since becoming involved in the NHS he held the posts of Chair of Kettering General Hospital for seven years – leading the Trust to Foundation status – and Chair of Bedfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group for a further two years. Most recently he has been Non-Executive Director at Bedford Hospital Trust and was Chair of the Finance Committee.

  • Chair Audit and Risk
  • Member of FIP
  • Member of Workforce Committee
  • Member of Digital Strategy Committee
  • Member of Rems and Noms
  • Member of Charitable Funds
  • Deputy for Bedford AACs

Tansi HarperTansi Harper

Non-Executive Director

Tansi Harper’s professional career was in education. She has been passionate about making greater connections between public services and the voluntary sector and represented the Patient and Public voice on NHS Boards for the past 21 years, including SHA, PCTs and more latterly CCGs. She was appointed as the first Chair of the Northamptonshire STP and, as it moved to ICS, chaired the Collaborative Stakeholder Forum.

Tansi has a particular interest in mental health and has been Chair of a Probation Trust, and chaired a transformation board bring four such Trusts together including Bedfordshire’s. She has also been Chair of a charity, CAN, working with clients with substance misuse across Northamptonshire and Bedfordshire, a Board member of Richmond Fellowship, a nationwide supported housing and mental health charity and a Board member of St Andrew’s Healthcare Trust, which specialised in meeting the needs of most complex patients with mental health conditions.

Tansi is a lay member of the Dept of Health’s Independent Reconfiguration Panel, which advises the Secretary of State on possible solutions when national transformation reach an impasse.

Other meetings to be attended on a rotational basis:

  • PLACE Assessment
  • Engagement Events with the public and members
  • Supporting events like Good, Better, Best Weeks, Nurses Day and Equality Week
  • CCG AGMs (Luton, Bedfordshire and Herts Valley)